Search This Blog

Follow by Email


Total Pageviews

Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal is a landlocked country in South Asia. It is bordered by China to the north, and India to the south, east and west. The Himalaya mountain range runs across Nepal's northern and western parts, and eight of the world's ten highest mountains, including Mount Everest, are within its territory. The total area of Nepal is 147181 sq. Km with an East to West length of about 800Km. and a North to South width of about 90-230Km. Nepal is located 26° 26’ north – 30° 26’ north latitude & 80° 03’ east – 88° 15’ west longitude. The elevation of Nepal starts at 70m above sea level and ends with Mt. Everest at 8848m. 

Nepal has a population of about 27 million people. Education is not compulsory here so only 57% of the population is literate. The primary religions in Nepal are Hinduism & Buddhism. There are also some Muslims, Kirats, Jains,  Christians and others. There are more than 60 different ethnic groups in Nepal, each having their own dialect culture.

Cow is the national animal of Nepal. Most of the people of Nepal are Hindus and cow is worshipped as the goddess of wealth (Goddess Laxmi). Killing of cow is prohibited in the hindu religion and in Nepal.

The national flag of Nepal is quite unique in shape. Nepali flag is the only double triangular shaped flag in the world. Moon resides in the upper triangle and the sun in the lower triangle. The blue color in the boarder of the flag denotes the peace loving nature of Nepalese. This flag was designed in the time of King Prithvi Narayan Shah of Nepal (Founder of Modern Nepal) around two and half centuries ago. In addition to this this flag carries various vedic importances.

Danphe (Lophophorus impejanus) also known as himalayan munal is the national bird of Nepal.

| | edit post

Popular Posts